e-Tax for Mac 2012! Yes there is a simple solution and it’s FREE

Ok, gripes first:

To the Australian Taxation Office (ATO), if it isn’t important enough for you to develop (with any timeliness) e-Tax for Mac users, then clearly you don’t need my taxes. I am a citizen and shouldn’t have to jump through hoops to get my simple tax return lodged. Poor form ATO, how hard can it be? I mean if I can figure out a work around, you can figure out a Mac solution!

Gripe over, onto the easy solution– and if I can get it to work, then anyone can!

Firstly, my system details: I’m running a new iMac on the latest OS 10.7.4 and I use a (crappy) Vodafone pocket wifi connection which is sometimes fast, most times slow and no-time  Pinterest functional.

To get your e-Tax done, you need to do the following, and be warned you’ll burn through about 3.5GB of your data allowance in the process.

1. Download Parallels Desktop for Mac. Sign up to the 14 day FREE trail. This means you need to be ready to go on your e-Tax return or be prepared to buy the software for AUD$89.95 at the end of the trial.

2. Once you’ve downloaded Parallels, select the FREE Windows 8 trial: this is where your 3.5GB will go. Using the crappy pocket wifi, it took about 3 hours to download, it will be faster if you’re on cable or have a decent connection.

3. Select the Mac option (that allows sharing of files between PC and Mac)

4. Once Windows is running and you get over the weird interface, go to internet explorer (I know, it’s a violation of any Mac) and download the e-Tax program from www.ato.gov.au

5. You’re ready to e-Tax!

See: how easy was that!

There is some lags between desktops: it isn’t super fast but it works! And with any luck, you’ll have your refund in the 12 day online processing time!

And if you’re also unlucky enough to be using one of Vodafone’s pocket wifi devices, I’d be interested in hearing if you have any success with Pinterest: my boards simply won’t load, and if I tether my iPhone (which is with Telstra) to my iMac it works fine. Of course, Vodafone haven’t a clue and are now back to ignoring me. No surprises there.



Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: ATO, ATO fails Mac users AGAIN, Australian Taxation Office, e-tax 2012 for Mac, e-tax for Apple Mac, e-Tax for Mac, eTax for Apple Mac, eTax for Mac, Nicole Matejic, pinterest, social media monster, Social Media Monster Australia, Telstra, Vodafone, Vodafone Pocket Wifi

Author:Nicole Matejic

Author of the book 'Social Media Rules of Engagement' and CEO of The Information Initiative and Info Ops HQ; find out more about Nicole at www.nicolematejic.com


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “e-Tax for Mac 2012! Yes there is a simple solution and it’s FREE”

  1. renee.pike@hotmail.com
    July 12, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    thankyou so much, i have an imac too and am trying to figure out how i can do my tax online!!! am currently waiting for windows trial to download and will see how i go…i have telstra wireless adsl, still taking its sweet arse time tho!😉

  2. October 2, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Nicole, this is a fantastic solution and thank you for the generous and comprehensive instructions. I followed exactly what you recommend and the only glitch was that the Microsoft trial froze twice and only on the third time did it work. I ended up having to select the “PC Option” instead of the “Mac Option” and I’m not sure if that’s what made the difference. Regardless, these steps are great. I think you should market this to the ATO and make some money from it!!!

  3. October 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Thanks! I hope the ATO get their act together and produce a .dmg file for Macs by next tax time- you know, so I can see my tax dollars being spent on something that I actually benefit from..

Leave a Reply

